Commonwealth Games (every 4 years)

The Commonwealth is a voluntary association of 53 independent countries. It is home to 2.2 billion citizens and over 60% of these are under the age of 30. The Commonwealth includes some of the world’s largest, smallest, richest and poorest countries, spanning five regions. Thirty-one of its members are small states, many of them island nations.
Commonwealth policies are shaped by member countries, who have an equal say on decisions affecting them. Commonwealth organisations put these decisions and plans into action.
The Commonwealth

The first Commonwealth Games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada where 11 countries sent 400 athletes to take part in 6 sports and 59 events. Since then, the Games have been conducted every four years (except for 1942 and 1946 due to World War II) and the event has seen many changes.
The Commonwealth Games is a unique, world class, multi-sports event. It is often referred to as the ‘Friendly Games’.
Commonwealth Games Federation

A few pedagogical resources on the Commonwealth Games :


Imprimer cette page (impression du contenu de la page)